foreign service · Government · Moving · Travel

Lo siento mis amigos.

I apologize for my hiatus from the blog! We have had some life changes that have distracted me for a while now. First off we made a small move, around the first of November we changed to a new apartment in the neighborhood of Rosslyn. After flag day had passed, we realized with all the training that would be happening, we would be here for 8+ months. We made the transition to an apartment that felt a little more like home to me. J is fine with just about anywhere (luckily the cats are too) But this transition has been a huge one, and to have a temporary place that I enjoyed more, and really felt like home a little more was worth the move.

The next major thing that has changed, that has been taking up literally all my time, is Spanish class. I found out on a Friday, that the following Monday I would be able to go to the fast track, 8 week, spouses class for Spanish. It is 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. While that is a pretty ideal work schedule, listening to only a foreign language that much is a little exhausting. While I’m extremely appreciative to be able to be in this class, and to get a chance to learn, I have been completely overwhelmed. The learning style is considered immersion, meaning the professor only speaks in Spanish the entire class time. Including, when explaining what it is we are learning, what book and page to turn to, what the homework is for that day, all in Spanish, from Day 1. I’ve never experienced a class structured like this, so honestly it’s been a little defeating. I go to class and listen to Spanish for 5 hours, then come home and try to piece together what I’m suppose to do for homework so I won’t be too behind in class the next day. Four weeks have gone by and I am so so happy to be halfway done. I have learned a lot, I really have. But it has been challenging, exhausting, and definitely my least favorite part of this entire process. Now that I have a pretty good baseline of Spanish, I look forward to continue learning at my own pace, in my own time, once class is finished. December 23rd, I’m counting the days until you are here! Adios Español!

Luckily, last weekend was a wonderfully refreshing experience! One of my closest friends and her husband came to spend the weekend with J and I. It was great to just take a break and venture out into this beautiful city I haven’t had time to enjoy lately. We ate great food, explored beautiful places and watched the weather change from 60s to 30s in a matter of minutes. It was also great for me mentally, to have some girl time. Transitioning from being in a city with all your friends and family, to a city where you only know your husband, has had it’s challenges. I’m very thankful to all my friends that I talk to so often, it feels like they are right here with me. But I definitely didn’t mind having someone in person to hug on for the weekend!

 

 

With 4 weeks of class left and holidays around the corner, I’ll do my best to keep everyone up to date but it may be a little few and far between for a while. Thanks for all your love and support!

Leave a Reply

